BIO

ELDBJØRG HEMSING - VIOLINIST

Als ein „Champion“ der reichhaltigen Musiktradition Norwegens ist die Violinistin Eldbjørg Hemsing in ihrem Heimatland seit ihrer Kindheit eine überaus bekannte Künstlerin, die ihr Solodebüt mit den Bergen Philharmonic im Alter von 11 Jahren gab.
Eldbjørg Hemsing studierte bei Boris Kuschnir in Wien und positionierte sich erfolgreich sowohl auf nationaler wie auch internationaler Ebene, ihren Stil konsequent weiter entwickelnd und feinabstimmend, dabei eine große Repertoirebandbreite von Beethoven bis Dvořák, Grieg bis Tan Dun aufnehmend. Zusammen mit Tan Dun hat sie in zahlreichen Projekten in Europa und Asien realisiert. Aktuell arbeitet sie mit dem chinesischen Komponisten und Oscar-Preisträger an einem neuen, ihr gewidmeten Werk zusammen, das im Herbst 2018 Premiere feiern wird.
Im März 2018 veröffentlichte Eldbjørg Hemsing ihr Debütalbum bei dem schwedischen Klassiklabel BIS mit Violinkonzerten von Hjalmar Borgström und Dmitri Schostakowitsch, aufgenommen mit den Wiener Symphonikern unter Olari Elts.
Zur Einführung des Violinkonzertes von Borgström schrieb die Künstlerin: „Vor einigen Jahren wurde ich in die Musik von Hjalmar Borgström, einem Namen, der mir zuvor nicht bekannt war. Ich war überrascht zu erfahren, dass er zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts berühmt war, sowohl als Komponist als auch als Kritiker in Norwegen. Die Partitur des Violinkonzertes zum ersten Mal aufschlagend war ich sofort fasziniert. Dieses 1914 komponierte Konzert is unglaublich schön, reich an Norwegischem Nationalgefühl, typisch für diese Zeit, dabei würdig für internationale Beachtung. Das Violinkonzert erinnert mich daran, woher ich komme – die schroffe Landschaft von Valdres und Jotunheimen, wo die umgebende Bergwelt sich dramatisch über die Täler erhebt – und die Musik lässt bei mir eine Sehnsucht nach meinen Wurzeln entstehen. Nach Borgströms Tod im Jahr 1925 wurde das Konzert komplett vergessen, so dass mich heute auf einer Mission befinde, meinen Anteil daran zu leisten, die Musik dieses Komponisten zurück ins Licht zu rücken.“
Auf Eldbjørg Hemsings Debütalbum folgt im September 2018 die Veröffentlichung einer Aufnahme des Violinkonzertes von Antonín Dvořáks sowie der Fantasie und dem Liebeslied von Josef Suk mit dem Antwerp Symphony Orchestra unter Dirigent Alan Buribayev. Die Solistin ist zudem eine der drei Protagonistinnen des neuen Dokumentarfilms „Forte“ von David Donnelly, der herausragende Frauen der klassischen Musik vorstellt. Dieser Film folgt dem preisgekrönten Erfolg des im Jahr 2010 erschienenen Dokumentarfilms des norwegischen staatlichen Rundfunks NRK, in dem Eldbjørg Hemsing und ihre Schwester Ragnhild das Leben des legendären norwegischen Geigers und Komponisten Ole Bull erforschen.
Kommende Engagements in dieser Konzertsaison beinhalten Auftritte in der international beachteten Konzerthalle „Stormen“ in Bodø, wo Eldbjørg Hemsing im Jahr 2018 Residenzkünstlerin ist, sowie Konzerte u.a. mit: Oslo Philharmonic, MDR Sinfonieorchester Leipzig, Baltic Sea Philharmonic, Arctic Philharmonic und Nordwestdeutsche Philharmonie. Zudem ist sie Gast bei dem Pärnu Festival von Paavo Järvi in Estland .
Eldbjørg Hemsing spielt eine Geige von G. B. Guadagnini aus dem Jahr 1754, die ihr freundlicherweise als Leihgabe von der Dextra Musica Foundation zur Verfügung gestellt wird.
Ihre Langzeitentwicklung als Künstlerin wird großzügig von der Göhde Foundation unterstützt.

KRITIKEN ZUR DEBÜT-CD VON ELDBJØRG HEMSING

“…eine phantastische Künstlerin mit einem warmen Klang und akkuratem, präzisem Spiel. Eldbjørg Hemsing verleiht dem 2. Satz, dem Scherzo, eine bezaubernde und hypnotische Interpretation. Die weiteren drei Sätze, im reinem Stil der russischen Musik, positionieren diese perfekt beherrschte Fassung auf der Ebene der großartigsten Aufnahmen (David Oistrach, Maxime Shostakovich, EMI, 1972, Lydia Mordkovich, Neeme Jarvi, Chandos, 1989, Yefim Bronfman, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Sony, 2003). Die Wiener Symphoniker unter der Leitung des gründlichen und erfahrenen Esten Olari Elts teilen diesen Verdienst und tragen dazu bei, für diese Aufnahme legitime Lust und Neugier zu erwecken.” – 1. Mai 2018

„Wundervoll gespielt […], Eldbjørg Hemsings Dynamik und reichhaltiger, warmer Klang is genau das, was das Konzert bennötigt. Sie ist wirklich eindrucksvoll.“ – 28. April 2018

„Jetzt hat die junge, bezwingend frisch artikulierende Geigerin Eldbjørg Hemsing das dreisätzige Violinkonzert von Borgström ausgegraben und mit den Wiener Symphonikern unter Olari Elts eingespielt, nicht nur als noble Pioniertat, sondern geigerisch wie musikalisch hinreißend.“ – 17. April 2018

Bewertung – 5/5 | Hervorragend: „Anders als bei der konkurrenzlosen Interpretation des unbekannten norwegischen Komponisten Borgström, muss die Geigerin beim Konzert von Schostakowitsch, das dem großen David Oistrach gewidmet war, mit Vergleichen rechnen – die sie aber allesamt nicht zu scheuen braucht! Kann man mit 28 Jahren dieses grosse Violinkonzert schon so grossartig spielen – Eldbjörg Hemsing kann es!“ – 12. April 2018

„Hemsing delivers a true top performance in both of these concertos. Enthusiasm, imagination, energy, finesse, sharpness, lyricism, brilliance: it is all there, with the highly engaged Estonian conductor Olari Elts who shows the Vienna Symphony, so to speak, all corners of the hall. Of course, Borgström’s Violin Concerto is the ‚ear-opener‘ here, but I was also overwhelmed by the expressive dimensions of the interpretation in Shostakovich’s first violin concerto.“ – 19. März 2018

„…und das hört man auf der CD. Die Klangfarben sind vielseitig, voller unterschiedlicher warmer und auch brillanter Register, und wie Hemsing mit diesem jahrhundertelang gewachsenen Reichtum umgeht, ist meisterhaft: den Eigenheiten der Geige zugewandt und hellwach darin, auf sie zu reagieren, feinsinnig in der Klanggebung und klug in der Akzentuierung. Jedes Vibrato, jedes Tempo kommt wohldurchdacht. Das Schostakowitsch-Konzert pointiert Hemsing sowohl in seiner ausgedehnten Klage als auch in seiner fratzenhaften Bissigkeit, ohne es je zu überzeichnen. Borgström hingegen lässt sie eine sprühende, selbstbewusste, nahezu unbeugsame Dynamik entwickeln. Es entsteht eine einzigartig filigrane musikalische Balance zwischen den beiden Konzerten, die Achse dazwischen ist Hemsings unverkennbare klangliche Konsequenz. Das ist temperamentvoll und zugleich sehr reif.“ – 15. März 2018

Holger Wemhoff, Klassik Radio | 8. März 2018: „…mittlerweile gilt sie [Eldbjørg Hemsing] als eine der besten und größten jungen Hoffnungen, nicht nur in ihres Landes Norwegen, sondern auch der ganzen Welt. Und das hört man vor allem auf ihrer neuen CD, ihrer Debüt-CD.“ – Holger Wemhoff | 12. März 2018: „Eine der besten Violin-CDs der vergangenen Jahre.“

„…ein bravourös gelungener Einstand… Ob die elegische Nocturne, das virtuos vertrackt schwierige Scherzo, die atemberaubende Solokadenz im dritten Satz oder die zwischen ausgelassener Euphorie und Verzagtheit taumelnde Burlesque mit ihrem tänzerischen Sog, allem vermag Hemsing den jeweils adäquaten Ton zu leihen. Ein gemeinsamer Triumph von Shostakovich originärer Schaffenskraft und der Ausdruckskraft der jungen Interpretin, die dieses musikhistorische Monument für unsere heutigen Hörer in bewegende Töne übersetzt.“ – 6. März 2018

„Dabei ist das wundervolle Violinkonzert G-Dur op. 14 aus dem Jahr 1914 ein echter Knüller, und man kann dem schwedischen Label BIS dankbar sein, dass er das Werk jetzt in Bestbesetzung hat aufnehmen lassen. Den Solopart spielt die fabelhafte junge norwegische Eldbjørg Hemsing: Sie prunkt mit einer glänzenden Technik, ihr Ton ist leuchtend, hat Schmelz – und über allem thront die Grandezza einer freien Geigerseele. Die 27-jährige Künstlerin, von der man noch sehr viel hören wird, holt das Werk, das man wunderbar unbeschwert hören kann, sozusagen zurück ins Repertoire. Dabei helfen die Wiener Symphoniker unter Leitung von Olari Elts meisterlich mit. Abgerundet wird diese SACD durch eine nicht minder beeindruckende, die Kanten und Abgründe der Musik einfangende Wiedergabe des Violinkonzerts Nr. 1 a-Moll von Dmitri Schostakowitsch.“ – 5. März 2018

„…die Geigerin Eldbjørg Hemsing kann mit ihrer geigerischen Souveränität, ihrem anspringenden Temperament und einem wunderbar klaren und schlackenfreien Kantilenenton diese Repertoire-Rarität [Borgström Violinkonzert] in eine lohnenswerte Wieder- bzw. Neuentdeckung verwandeln. Dass Hemsing aber eben auch das gesamte Schostakowitsch-Spektrum von düsterer Bitternis bis grotesk-virtuoser Gelenkigkeit grandios beherrscht, stellt sie anschließend gemeinsam mit den höchst engagierten Wiener Symphonikern unter Beweis.“ – 3. März 2018

„…hier schafft Hemsing es gemeinsam mit den Wiener Symphonikern und Olari Elts eine überzeugende, farbenreiche und persönliche Interpretation zu präsentieren. Mit durchweg brillierendem Klang und flexiblem Ausdruck macht Eldbjørg Hemsing dieses Album absolut hörenswert.“ – 20. Februar 2018

Rating – 6/6 Stars: „… a fabulous discovery … [Hemsing] offers a star performance, technically steady as a mountain goat, bold and assertive where required and sweetly filled like spun sugar in the slow movement … this recording is strongly recommended.​“​- 14. Februar 2018

Share:
© Copyright 2018. All Rights Reserved.

About

ELDBJØRG HEMSING - VIOLINIST

A champion of Norway’s rich musical tradition, Eldbjørg Hemsing has been a household name in her native country since childhood and made her solo debut with the Bergen Philharmonic at the age of 11. After winning various international competitions and prizes at the age of 18, she received a flood of invitations to perform but decided instead to travel to Vienna for further intensive studies with Boris Kuschnir, during which time she fine-tuned her performance-style and absorbed a wide-range of repertoire ranging from Bach, Beethoven, Bartok to Tan Dun. Together with Tan Dun she has collaborated on numerous projects in both Europe and Asia and has most recently premiered composer’s new violin concerto “Fire Ritual – A Musical Ritual for Victims of Wars”, together with the Oslo Philharmonic.
In March 2018 Eldbjørg Hemsing released her debut CD on the Swedish label, BIS, featuring violin concertos by Hjalmar Borgström and Dmitri Shostakovich, recorded with the Vienna Symphony Orchestra and Olari Elts.
Introducing the album Eldbjørg wrote: ”A few years ago, I was introduced to the music of Hjalmar Borgström, a name I was not previously familiar with and I was surprised to learn that he had been famous as both a composer and critic in Norway at the beginning of the 20th century. Opening the score of his first violin concerto for the first time I was immediately intrigued. This concerto, written in 1914, is incredibly beautiful, full of Norwegian Nationalist sentiment so typical of its time but also worthy of international attention. It reminds me of where I come from – the rugged landscape of Valdres and Jotunheimen, where the surrounding mountains rise dramatically over the valleys – and the music makes me yearn for my roots. After Borgström’s death in 1925 the concerto was completely forgotten and so today I am on something of a mission to help do my part in bringing this composer’s music back to life.”
Her debut album will be followed in September  2018 by a recording of Dvořák’s Violin Concerto and Suk’s Fantasy and Love Song with the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra and Alan Buribayev. She is also the subject of the upcoming documentary “Forte” directed by David Donnelly, focusing on women in the arts. This new venture follows the award winning success of the 2010 NRK film in which Eldbjørg and her sister Ranghild explored the life of Norway’s legendary violinist, Olle Bull.
Her upcoming engagements in the 2018 / 19 season include her début with the China National Symphony Orchestra, Orchestra Filharmónica Portuguesa and Orchestra de Valéncia, as well as her re-engagements with amongs others Oslo Philharmonic, Shenzhen Philharmonic Orchestra, Trondheim Symphony Orchestra, Szczecin Philharmonic to only name a few. Eldbjørg Hemsing is also making her recital début at the Lincoln Center in New York, Abu Dhabi Classics, recital tour in Europe and Asia with Macedonian pianist Simon Trpčeski and Julien Quentin. As part of her 2018 Artist in Residency at the Stormen Concert Hall in Bødo (Norway), she is returning for a series recitals and performances with the Arctic Philharmonic.
In addition to a busy performance schedule, Eldbjørg Hemsing is actively involved in societal projects close to her values. In response to the outbreak of the refugee crisis, she became an ambassador for the German music education project CJD Panorama, a music program aimed at assisting children from minority backgrounds in society integration. In January 2018 Eldbjørg Hemsing appeared as a speaker at the launch of W20 – Women in Global Heath in Berlin, emphasizing the role of music in public health. She has also been a keynote speaker at the Abu Dhabi Culture Summit 2018 and Arts & Audience 2017´s “Young Audiences” conference.

Eldbjørg Hemsing plays a 1754 G. B. Guadagnini violin on kind loan from the Dextra Musica Foundation.
Her long-term artistic development is generously supported by the Göhde Foundation.

ELDBJØRG HEMSING DEBUT CD REVIEWS:

“…an outstanding artist with a warm tone, accurate and precise playing. Eldbjørg Hemsing gives the second movement, the Scherzo, a bewitching and hypnotic interpretation, unforgettable. The other three movements, in the pure style of the Russian musician, place this perfectly controlled version at the level of the greatest recordings (David Oistrach, Maxime Shostakovich, EMI, 1972, Lydia Mordkovich, Neeme Jarvi, Chandos, 1989, Yefim Bronfman, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Sony, 2003). The Vienna Symphony, conducted by the rigorous and experienced Estonian Olari Elts (born in 1971), shares the outstanding merits and contributes to making this recording a subject of legitimate lust and curiosity.” – 1 May 2018

“Wonderfully played […], Eldbjørg Hemsing’s dynamism and rich, warm tone exactly what the concerto needs. She’s really impressive.” – 28 April 2018

“… the young and compellingly fresh articulating violinist Eldbjørg Hemsing has digged out the three-movement violin concerto of Borgström, recording the work with Vienna Symphony Orchestra under Olari Elts – not only as noble pioneering feat, but in violinistic and musically gorgeous manner.“ – 17 April 2018

Rating – 5/5 Stars | Magnificent: “For the concerto of Shostakovich which was dedicated to the marvelous David Oistrach, this violinist must expect comparisons – which she in fact all does not need to shun! Can one play this great violin concerto in such superb manner with 28 years of age? Eldbjørg Hemsing can!“ – 12 April 2018

“Hemsing delivers a true top performance in both of these concertos. Enthusiasm, imagination, energy, finesse, sharpness, lyricism, brilliance: it is all there, with the highly engaged Estonian conductor Olari Elts who shows the Vienna Symphony, so to speak, all corners of the hall. Of course, Borgström’s Violin Concerto is the ‘ear-opener’ here, but I was also overwhelmed by the expressive dimensions of the interpretation in Shostakovich’s first violin concerto.“ – 19 March 2018

“The timbres are varied, full of warmth and brilliant registers, and how Hemsing deals with this centuries-old richness [of her G.B. Guadagnini from 1764] is masterful: attuned to the characteristics of the violin and alert in her response to them, subtle in sound and astute in accentuation. Every vibrato, every tempo is well thought out and Hemsing highlights the Shostakovich concerto both in its extended lamentation and grim ferocity, without ever overstating. The Borgström, on the other hand, she develops into a sparkling, self-assured, almost indomitable momentum. The result is a uniquely delicate musical balance between the two concertos, the axis between them is Hemsing’s unmistakable and consistent colour. This is vivacious and at the same time very mature.” – 15 March 2018

Holger Wemhoff, Klassik Radio | 8. März 2018: “…in the meanwhile she [Eldbjørg Hemsing] is regarded as one of the best and greatest young hopes, not only of her country Norway, but of the entire world. And that can especially be heard in her new, her debut CD.”  –  Holger Wemhoff | 12 March 2018: “One of the best violin recordings of the past years.”

“…a brilliantly successful debut… whether it is the elegiac Nocturne, the virtuoso tricky Scherzo, the breathtaking solo cadenza in the 3rd movement, or the Burlesque which is tumbling between exuberant euphoria and treipdation, Hemsing in each case gives the adequate note. A joint triumph of Shostakovich’ genuine creativiness and the verve of the young artist who translates this music-historical monument into moving sounds.“ – 6 March 2018

“The wonderful Violin Concerto in G major op. 14 from 1914 is a real hit, and you can be thankful to the Swedish label BIS for letting the work now appear at its best. The solo part is played by the fabulous young Norwegian Eldbjørg Hemsing: she impresses with a brilliant technique, her tone is bright and soft – and the grandeur of a free violinist soul is enthroned above everything. The 27-year-old artist, of whom there is still a great deal to hear, brings the work, which one can hear wonderfully carefree, so to speak, back into the repertoire. The Wiener Symphoniker, under the direction of Olari Elts, assists masterfully. This SACD is rounded off by a no less impressive performance of the Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor by Dmitri Shostakovich, which captures the edges and abysses of the music.“ – 5 March 2018

“…with her supreme violinistic ease, sprightly personality and wonderfully clear and pure lyrical tone (2nd movement), the violinist Eldbjørg Hemsing transforms this repertoire rarity [Borgström violin concerto] into a worthwhile rediscovery or new discovery. Hemsing’s mastery of the entire Shostakovich spectrum, from gloomy bitterness to grotesquely-virtuosic agility, is then demonstrated in her collaboration with the highly committed Wiener Symphoniker.“ – 3 March 2018

…jointly with Wiener Symphoniker and Olari Elts, Hemsing presents an interpretation which is convincing, rich of colors and personal. With consistently brilliant sound and flexible expression, Eldbjørg Hemsing makes this album absolutely worth listening to.” – 20 February 2018

Rating – 6/6 Stars: “… a fabulous discovery … [Hemsing] offers a star performance, technically steady as a mountain goat, bold and assertive where required and sweetly filled like spun sugar in the slow movement … this recording is strongly recommended.​”​- 14 February 2018

Share:
© COPYRIGHT 2018 | ALL RIGHTS RESERVED | IMPRINT & PRIVACY POLICY