Borgström & Schostakowitsch

Eldbjørg Hemsing Debut CD Release

März 9, 2018
Eldbjørg Hemsing
BIS Records AB
Number of discs: 1

INHALT:

Im März 2018 veröffentlichte Eldbjørg Hemsing ihr Debütalbum als SACD (Super Audio Compact Disc) bei dem für seine Qualität international ausgezeichneten schwedischen Klassiklabel BIS mit Aufnahmen von Violinkonzerten von Hjalmar Borgström und Dmitri Schostakowitsch mit den Wiener Symphonikern unter Olari Elts.

Zur Einführung des Violinkonzertes von Borgström schrieb die Künstlerin: „Vor einigen Jahren wurde ich in die Musik von Hjalmar Borgström, einem Namen, der mir zuvor nicht bekannt war. Ich war überrascht zu erfahren, dass er zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts berühmt war, sowohl als Komponist als auch als Kritiker in Norwegen. Die Partitur des Violinkonzertes zum ersten Mal aufschlagend war ich sofort fasziniert. Dieses 1914 komponierte Konzert is unglaublich schön, reich an Norwegischem Nationalgefühl, typisch für diese Zeit, dabei würdig für internationale Beachtung. Das Violinkonzert erinnert mich daran, woher ich komme – die schroffe Landschaft von Valdres und Jotunheimen, wo die umgebende Bergwelt sich dramatisch über die Täler erhebt – und die Musik lässt bei mir eine Sehnsucht nach meinen Wurzeln entstehen. Nach Borgströms Tod im Jahr 1925 wurde das Konzert komplett vergessen, so dass mich heute auf einer Mission befinde, meinen Anteil daran zu leisten, die Musik dieses Komponisten zurück ins Licht zu rücken.

Im Gegensatz zu Borgströms Werk wuchs ich das erste Violinkonzert von Schostakowitsch liebend auf, von dem ich bereits von jungem Alter an absolut fasziniert war. Das Studium dieses Werkes mit Professor Boris Kushnir, selbst Student von David Oistrach, dem der Komponist das Werk gewidmet hatte, hat mir einen privilegierten Einblick in diese Musik gegeben und mir ermöglicht, etwas über die russische Seele mit ihrer sowohl einzigartigen Melancholie  wie auch ihrem Humor zu lernen. Dieses Konzert ist ein großartiges emotionales Meisterwerk, das keine Grenzen in Bezug darauf kennt, wie weit man es selbst in Ausdruck, Schmerz, Leid und Hoffnung gestalten kann.“


KRITIKEN:

“…eine phantastische Künstlerin mit einem warmen Klang und akkuratem, präzisem Spiel. Eldbjørg Hemsing verleiht dem 2. Satz, dem Scherzo, eine bezaubernde und hypnotische Interpretation. Die weiteren drei Sätze, im reinem Stil der russischen Musik, positionieren diese perfekt beherrschte Fassung auf der Ebene der großartigsten Aufnahmen (David Oistrach, Maxime Shostakovich, EMI, 1972, Lydia Mordkovich, Neeme Jarvi, Chandos, 1989, Yefim Bronfman, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Sony, 2003). Die Wiener Symphoniker unter der Leitung des gründlichen und erfahrenen Esten Olari Elts teilen diesen Verdienst und tragen dazu bei, für diese Aufnahme legitime Lust und Neugier zu erwecken.” – 1. Mai 2018

„Wundervoll gespielt […], Eldbjørg Hemsings Dynamik und reichhaltiger, warmer Klang is genau das, was das Konzert bennötigt. Sie ist wirklich eindrucksvoll.“ – 28. April 2018

„Jetzt hat die junge, bezwingend frisch artikulierende Geigerin Eldbjørg Hemsing das dreisätzige Violinkonzert von Borgström ausgegraben und mit den Wiener Symphonikern unter Olari Elts eingespielt, nicht nur als noble Pioniertat, sondern geigerisch wie musikalisch hinreißend.“ – 17. April 2018

Bewertung – 5/5 | Hervorragend: „Anders als bei der konkurrenzlosen Interpretation des unbekannten norwegischen Komponisten Borgström, muss die Geigerin beim Konzert von Schostakowitsch, das dem großen David Oistrach gewidmet war, mit Vergleichen rechnen – die sie aber allesamt nicht zu scheuen braucht! Kann man mit 28 Jahren dieses grosse Violinkonzert schon so grossartig spielen – Eldbjörg Hemsing kann es!“ – 12. April 2018

„Hemsing delivers a true top performance in both of these concertos. Enthusiasm, imagination, energy, finesse, sharpness, lyricism, brilliance: it is all there, with the highly engaged Estonian conductor Olari Elts who shows the Vienna Symphony, so to speak, all corners of the hall. Of course, Borgström’s Violin Concerto is the ‚ear-opener‘ here, but I was also overwhelmed by the expressive dimensions of the interpretation in Shostakovich’s first violin concerto.“ – 19. März 2018

„…und das hört man auf der CD. Die Klangfarben sind vielseitig, voller unterschiedlicher warmer und auch brillanter Register, und wie Hemsing mit diesem jahrhundertelang gewachsenen Reichtum umgeht, ist meisterhaft: den Eigenheiten der Geige zugewandt und hellwach darin, auf sie zu reagieren, feinsinnig in der Klanggebung und klug in der Akzentuierung. Jedes Vibrato, jedes Tempo kommt wohldurchdacht. Das Schostakowitsch-Konzert pointiert Hemsing sowohl in seiner ausgedehnten Klage als auch in seiner fratzenhaften Bissigkeit, ohne es je zu überzeichnen. Borgström hingegen lässt sie eine sprühende, selbstbewusste, nahezu unbeugsame Dynamik entwickeln. Es entsteht eine einzigartig filigrane musikalische Balance zwischen den beiden Konzerten, die Achse dazwischen ist Hemsings unverkennbare klangliche Konsequenz. Das ist temperamentvoll und zugleich sehr reif.“ – 15. März 2018

Holger Wemhoff, Klassik Radio | 8. März 2018: „…mittlerweile gilt sie [Eldbjørg Hemsing] als eine der besten und größten jungen Hoffnungen, nicht nur in ihres Landes Norwegen, sondern auch der ganzen Welt. Und das hört man vor allem auf ihrer neuen CD, ihrer Debüt-CD.“ – Holger Wemhoff | 12. März 2018: „Eine der besten Violin-CDs der vergangenen Jahre.“

„…ein bravourös gelungener Einstand… Ob die elegische Nocturne, das virtuos vertrackt schwierige Scherzo, die atemberaubende Solokadenz im dritten Satz oder die zwischen ausgelassener Euphorie und Verzagtheit taumelnde Burlesque mit ihrem tänzerischen Sog, allem vermag Hemsing den jeweils adäquaten Ton zu leihen. Ein gemeinsamer Triumph von Shostakovich originärer Schaffenskraft und der Ausdruckskraft der jungen Interpretin, die dieses musikhistorische Monument für unsere heutigen Hörer in bewegende Töne übersetzt.“ – 6. März 2018

„Dabei ist das wundervolle Violinkonzert G-Dur op. 14 aus dem Jahr 1914 ein echter Knüller, und man kann dem schwedischen Label BIS dankbar sein, dass er das Werk jetzt in Bestbesetzung hat aufnehmen lassen. Den Solopart spielt die fabelhafte junge norwegische Eldbjørg Hemsing: Sie prunkt mit einer glänzenden Technik, ihr Ton ist leuchtend, hat Schmelz – und über allem thront die Grandezza einer freien Geigerseele. Die 27-jährige Künstlerin, von der man noch sehr viel hören wird, holt das Werk, das man wunderbar unbeschwert hören kann, sozusagen zurück ins Repertoire. Dabei helfen die Wiener Symphoniker unter Leitung von Olari Elts meisterlich mit. Abgerundet wird diese SACD durch eine nicht minder beeindruckende, die Kanten und Abgründe der Musik einfangende Wiedergabe des Violinkonzerts Nr. 1 a-Moll von Dmitri Schostakowitsch.“ – 5. März 2018

„…die Geigerin Eldbjørg Hemsing kann mit ihrer geigerischen Souveränität, ihrem anspringenden Temperament und einem wunderbar klaren und schlackenfreien Kantilenenton diese Repertoire-Rarität [Borgström Violinkonzert] in eine lohnenswerte Wieder- bzw. Neuentdeckung verwandeln. Dass Hemsing aber eben auch das gesamte Schostakowitsch-Spektrum von düsterer Bitternis bis grotesk-virtuoser Gelenkigkeit grandios beherrscht, stellt sie anschließend gemeinsam mit den höchst engagierten Wiener Symphonikern unter Beweis.“ – 3. März 2018

„…hier schafft Hemsing es gemeinsam mit den Wiener Symphonikern und Olari Elts eine überzeugende, farbenreiche und persönliche Interpretation zu präsentieren. Mit durchweg brillierendem Klang und flexiblem Ausdruck macht Eldbjørg Hemsing dieses Album absolut hörenswert.“ – 20. Februar 2018

Rating – 6/6 Stars: „… a fabulous discovery … [Hemsing] offers a star performance, technically steady as a mountain goat, bold and assertive where required and sweetly filled like spun sugar in the slow movement … this recording is strongly recommended.​“​- 14. Februar 2018

Share:
© Copyright 2018. All Rights Reserved.

Borgström & Shostakovich

Eldbjørg Hemsing Debut CD Release

March 9, 2018
Eldbjørg Hemsing
BIS Records AB
Number of discs: 1

CONTENT:

In March 2018 Eldbjørg Hemsing released her debut album as high-resolution (SA)CD on the acclaimed Swedish label BIS, featuring violin concertos by Hjalmar Borgström and Dmitri Shostakovich, recorded with the Vienna Symphony Orchestra and Olari Elts.

Introducing the album Eldbjørg wrote: ”A few years ago, I was introduced to the music of Hjalmar Borgström, a name I was not previously familiar with and I was surprised to learn that he had been famous as both a composer and critic in Norway at the beginning of the 20th century. Opening the score of his first violin concerto for the first time I was immediately intrigued. This concerto, written in 1914, is incredibly beautiful, full of Norwegian Nationalist sentiment so typical of its time but also worthy of international attention. It reminds me of where I come from – the rugged landscape of Valdres and Jotunheimen, where the surrounding mountains rise dramatically over the valleys – and the music makes me yearn for my roots. After Borgström’s death in 1925 the concerto was completely forgotten and so today I am on something of a mission to help do my part in bringing this composer’s music back to life.

In contrast to Borgström’s work, I grew up loving Shostakovich’s first violin concerto and was completely hooked on it from an early age. Studying the work with Professor Boris Kushnir, who himself was the student of the concerto’s dedicatee, David Oistrakh, has given me a privileged insight into the music and allowed me to learn something of the Russian spirit with both its unqiue melancholy and humour. The concerto is a massive, emotional masterpiece where there are no limits to how far you are stretched within yourself in expression, pain, sorrow and hope.


REVIEWS:

“…an outstanding artist with a warm tone, accurate and precise playing. Eldbjørg Hemsing gives the second movement, the Scherzo, a bewitching and hypnotic interpretation, unforgettable. The other three movements, in the pure style of the Russian musician, place this perfectly controlled version at the level of the greatest recordings (David Oistrach, Maxime Shostakovich, EMI, 1972, Lydia Mordkovich, Neeme Jarvi, Chandos, 1989, Yefim Bronfman, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Sony, 2003). The Vienna Symphony, conducted by the rigorous and experienced Estonian Olari Elts, shares the outstanding merits and contributes to making this recording a subject of legitimate lust and curiosity.” – 1 May 2018

“Wonderfully played […], Eldbjørg Hemsing’s dynamism and rich, warm tone exactly what the concerto needs. She’s really impressive.” – 28 April 2018

“… the young and compellingly fresh articulating violinist Eldbjørg Hemsing has digged out the three-movement violin concerto of Borgström, recording the work with Vienna Symphony Orchestra under Olari Elts – not only as noble pioneering feat, but in violinistic and musically gorgeous manner.“ – 17 April 2018

Rating – 5/5 Stars | Magnificent: “For the concerto of Shostakovich which was dedicated to the marvelous David Oistrach, this violinist must expect comparisons – which she in fact all does not need to shun! Can one play this great violin concerto in such superb manner with 28 years of age? Eldbjørg Hemsing can!“ – 12 April 2018

“Hemsing delivers a true top performance in both of these concertos. Enthusiasm, imagination, energy, finesse, sharpness, lyricism, brilliance: it is all there, with the highly engaged Estonian conductor Olari Elts who shows the Vienna Symphony, so to speak, all corners of the hall. Of course, Borgström’s Violin Concerto is the ‘ear-opener’ here, but I was also overwhelmed by the expressive dimensions of the interpretation in Shostakovich’s first violin concerto.“ – 19 March 2018

“The timbres are varied, full of warmth and brilliant registers, and how Hemsing deals with this centuries-old richness [of her G.B. Guadagnini from 1764] is masterful: attuned to the characteristics of the violin and alert in her response to them, subtle in sound and astute in accentuation. Every vibrato, every tempo is well thought out and Hemsing highlights the Shostakovich concerto both in its extended lamentation and grim ferocity, without ever overstating. The Borgström, on the other hand, she develops into a sparkling, self-assured, almost indomitable momentum. The result is a uniquely delicate musical balance between the two concertos, the axis between them is Hemsing’s unmistakable and consistent colour. This is vivacious and at the same time very mature.” – 15 March 2018

Holger Wemhoff, Klassik Radio | 8. März 2018: “…in the meanwhile she [Eldbjørg Hemsing] is regarded as one of the best and greatest young hopes, not only of her country Norway, but of the entire world. And that can especially be heard in her new, her debut CD.”  –  Holger Wemhoff | 12 March 2018: “One of the best violin recordings of the past years.”

“…a brilliantly successful debut… whether it is the elegiac Nocturne, the virtuoso tricky Scherzo, the breathtaking solo cadenza in the 3rd movement, or the Burlesque which is tumbling between exuberant euphoria and treipdation, Hemsing in each case gives the adequate note. A joint triumph of Shostakovich’ genuine creativiness and the verve of the young artist who translates this music-historical monument into moving sounds.“ – 6 March 2018

“The wonderful Violin Concerto in G major op. 14 from 1914 is a real hit, and you can be thankful to the Swedish label BIS for letting the work now appear at its best. The solo part is played by the fabulous young Norwegian Eldbjørg Hemsing: she impresses with a brilliant technique, her tone is bright and soft – and the grandeur of a free violinist soul is enthroned above everything. The 27-year-old artist, of whom there is still a great deal to hear, brings the work, which one can hear wonderfully carefree, so to speak, back into the repertoire. The Wiener Symphoniker, under the direction of Olari Elts, assists masterfully. This SACD is rounded off by a no less impressive performance of the Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor by Dmitri Shostakovich, which captures the edges and abysses of the music.“ – 5 March 2018

“…with her supreme violinistic ease, sprightly personality and wonderfully clear and pure lyrical tone (2nd movement), the violinist Eldbjørg Hemsing transforms this repertoire rarity [Borgström violin concerto] into a worthwhile rediscovery or new discovery. Hemsing’s mastery of the entire Shostakovich spectrum, from gloomy bitterness to grotesquely-virtuosic agility, is then demonstrated in her collaboration with the highly committed Wiener Symphoniker.“ – 3 March 2018

…jointly with Wiener Symphoniker and Olari Elts, Hemsing presents an interpretation which is convincing, rich of colors and personal. With consistently brilliant sound and flexible expression, Eldbjørg Hemsing makes this album absolutely worth listening to.” – 20 February 2018

Rating – 6/6 Stars: “… a fabulous discovery … [Hemsing] offers a star performance, technically steady as a mountain goat, bold and assertive where required and sweetly filled like spun sugar in the slow movement … this recording is strongly recommended.​”​- 14 February 2018

Share:
© COPYRIGHT 2018 | ALL RIGHTS RESERVED | IMPRINT & PRIVACY POLICY